ConCentric: What was the point?

It’s been nearly a month since ConCentric. I can’t find minutes online anywhere, and my ConCentric reps have not received any (I know that, since I live with one of them and we share a mailbox), nor have any of the others that I converse with regularly who I know were there.

So I begin to wonder… what was the point? Why was there ($450×100 people?) $50,000 spent, for me, the Convenor of the Heartland District Young Adult and Campus Ministry Sustainability Corps, to have NOTHING to talk to any of my local groups leaders about, here at the beginning and most important part of programming for the church and school year? What was the point of my approval of nearly a third of this years HUUD YA/CM budget to send my 2 Co-Moderators to ConCentric?

For a fresh view, I’ll switch gears and put on my General Assembly Planning Committee hat. It’s interesting to see that… ConCentric has produced nothing for me to take to that body either. It could have easily proposed Featured or Sponsored programming, and gotten somewhere between $500 and $3000 to produce it, but they did not.

I truly feel like I’ll be at my Planning Committee meeting next week and be able to say “Our Young Adults have nothing to contribute to General Assembly in St. Louis.” If our UU churches are being accused of having a country club mentality, I would hate to see ConCentric and the Conference Planning Committee in action, because from what I see coming out of them, my local country clubs sit on their hands less.

Wake up C*UUYAN. You’ve spent another years worth of budget, with nothing to show for it. You’re letting the rest of the UU world pass you by, and you don’t seem to care.

1 comment
  1. What does the C*UUYAN Steering committee do?

    So I’ve thought on and off that it would be nice to know just what the Steering Committee does. I’m learning what “a” steering committee does, but as for what C*UUYAN’s Steering Committee does, I know about as much as…

Leave a Reply

